Mount Diablo
Jazz Festival 2009
(Formerly the JVC Jazz Festival)
 
The Mount Diablo Jazz Festival was held on August 22, 2009 at the Sleep Train Pavilion in Concord, CA. This venue holds 12,500 with the lawn area at capacity, making it one of the smaller pavilions. Located on the very north-eastern section of the San Francisco Bay Area, it is nestled in the Mount Diablo range. Formerly the JVC Jazz Festival, northern California is grateful that the promoters were able to continue.

Jazz Attack with trumpeter Rick Braun, saxophonist Richard Elliot, and guest, South African guitarist, Jonathan Butler graced the stage in the late afternoon.
 
 
Fourplay was exceptional, as always! Bob James on keyboards founded this band back in the early nighties, along with bassist Nathan East and drummer Harvey Mason. Larry Carlton replaced Lee Ritenour about a decade ago and these musicians have continues to produce CD after CD of top-shelf material. Their latest, Energy, is a good example. The first single, Fortune Teller, was nominated for a Grammy Award in 2008.
 
 
Vocalist, Anita Baker is more R&B than Smooth Jazz. Complete with stage decorations, her show was visually pleasing, while she belted out one song after another, reminding the audience that she was 51 years old.
 
 
Boney James closed the show with his urban jazz saxophone.
 
 
Find out more about Richard Elliot at www.richardelliot.com
 
Find out more about Rick Braun at www.rickbraun.com
 
Find out more about Jonathan Butler at www.jonathanbutler.com
 
Find out more about Fourplay at www.fourplayjazz.com
 
 
Find out more about Anita Baker at www.anitabaker.com
 
Find out more about Boney James at www. boneyjames.com
 
Find out more about Live Nation at www.livenation.com
 
 

About Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | ©2006 - 2009 Smooth Jazz Notes
All rights reserved. No part of this website may be reproduced in any form without
written permission from the owner.